Classification of Groups

Each group competing at State Youth Games is classified according to its size. There is a perpetual trophy for each of the three classifications of Small, Medium and Large Church groups. Eligibility for each classification is determined by the number of people registered by the group as sport competitors (ie. not as spectators).

Each year the qualification for Small, Medium and Large is determined so that approximately one third of all churches falls into each. As a rough guide, previous figures have been:

Small Churches
20 or fewer sport participants

Medium Churches
21 to 40 sport participants

Large Churches
More than 41 sport participants